Tags

, , , , , ,

For ‘coincidence’ (a.k.a. ‘syncronicity’) I have been thinking about this subject on the last weeks and then I find these two terrific and intriguing posts.

The first one was written by Patrick Dunn and the second by Jack Faust. Enjoy!

“Pagan Prayer”

Jason Miller recently had a clever and thorough post on the debate between those who think that fictional beings are the same as gods, or can be used the same way in magic.  He writes:

We not only do not currently know for sure the nature of what we deal with, but we currently do not have the capacity to know for sure the nature of what we deal with. Therefore every operating theory, including the ones above, might be wrong. Keep this in mind whether you are doing traditional work or experimenting.

I was thinking of that post today while I was going for a walk. Unlike Jason, I am a pagan — specifically a Theurgist [ETA: This was a bit of sloppy reading on my part, as Jason doesn’t say he’s not a pagan, only that his blog isn’t a pagan blog].  Often, when I go for a walk, I like to pray.  So I got out of my car at the forest preserve, headed into the woods, and thought “Okay, now, whom shall I pray to today?”

I had to laugh at myself.  That’s not a question most people ask, being monotheists.  I finally decided I wanted to be a little edgy, and pray to Ares, a god not often prayed to in ancient times.

Then, I had a second question: “How shall I pray today?”

Click here to continue reading this post by Patrick Dunn

“Strange Pastures”

[Warning: At  points, my tone drips with vitriol. Largely, this has been inspired by variations of this silly debate over time.]

I am a Chaos Magician.

We don’t have a tradition of magick based on lineage, so much as based on shared viewpoints, considerations, and quite often, desires. Chaos Magick arose out of the discordant babble of Punk Rock and Rave Music and a generation of young magicians way back in the late 1970s and on into 1980s and 1990s.

We claim only a few magical orders to our name, but an ever growing populace of followers. From our terrible fold was unleashed such magicians as: Andrew Chumbley, a former member of the IOT who went on to work with the Clan of Tubal-Cain and found the Cultus Sabbati. Peter J. Carrol, who founded the Chaos Magick order known as the Illuminates of Thanateros. William S. Burroughs, who was (as far as I know) an IOT member and is arguably one of the greatest American writers to ever walk the planet. Phil Hine, who was the head of the IOT in the years following Carroll’s departure for other fields and wrote two of the most beloved books on magick that we’ve ever produced. Fr. U.D., meanwhile, is a member of the German Thelema-offshoot known as the Fraternitas Saturnai and has produced equally excellent material for the aspiring magician. My favorite author from the American sphere of Chaos Magick is certainly Stephen Mace, whose love of Austin Spare may very well surpass my own. Fenwick Rysen, who recently released the Z-cluster archives and maintains the archival siteChaosmatrix.org also deserves some special mention, particularly as someone who has written on something I’m about to bring up.

Click here to continue reading this post by Jack Faust

