Tags

, , , , ,

Despite being his first work, with “LeMulgeton – Goetia and the Stellar Tradition” Leo Holmes has proven that it only takes determination and inspiration to produce a serious and valid investigation work. We contacted him to talk about this release, as well as his influences, motivations, and experiences as a magician.

image

Could you tell us about your background as a magician? What made you go from practitioner to author?

Well, from what I can recall, my first contacts with the occult happened by means of books from Eliphas Levi, Franz Bardon and Papus, which (with all my respect for these authors) I felt quite boring for their complexity and somewhat dogmatic approach. In fact I used to like better the images in such books. I then decided, when I was about 15, to study ancient religions, believing this could take me somewhere and inevitably bumped into Neopagan movements, which was also somehow valuable. However, as I believe it happens to everybody else when initiating, I felt overloaded with theory, poetry and ceremony with little or no result whatsoever. By that time, I met a Gipsy Lady (of Caló clan) who I started visiting seasonally and who invigorated my magical path. She also introduced me to Afro-Brazilian magic and Gipsy Folklore. It was, however, in contact with Chaos Magick and with the works of Kenneth Grant and A. O. Spare that a great revolution happened within my magical life. Practice made a real difference and, contrary to what could be expected, produced in me a greater interest for theory.

I decided to write firstly for myself and then to help some friends with written records of successful practices and my own theories of magic, obviously borrowing from influential authors, and finally to leave some written material within the family for the upcoming talents to have a starting point. I recently discovered that my Grandfather had been in contact with pagan communities and practices while living in Africa in the 70s, but he died when I was too young for a fruitful contact on these matters. And this was suppressed by the rest of the family. I always reflected on the fact that, maybe, if he had left me a written record, I could have started from that point. My wife is the great responsible for my attempt to openly publish a work. I’m forever indebted for her love, support, dedication and patience. Lots of patience.

Click here to read the full interview>>

